Using System State backup technique, you can create the backup of windows critical components on any system drive and this backup file can be used if the original copy is lost, damaged, or destroyed. On windows 2000/XP/Vista, system state data wizard backed up the following components.
Windows registry
Windows boot files
COM+ class registration database
But if you are running domain controller, system state data wizard backed up the following components.
Active Directory
System volume (SYSVOL)
Windows registry
Windows boot files
COM+ class registration database
Follow the given steps to run System State data backup wizard:
To use this feature, you will need to be logged into your computer with administrative rights.
First click on Start button> All programs> Accessories> System Tools then click on Backup.
Now by default backup wizard will start, click on advanced mode option to change the backup settings.
Here a dialog box will appear with title "Backup Utility", select "Welcome" tab and click on Backup Wizard [Advanced] button to create backup of windows important components.
Click on Next button to continue backup wizard.
Now select option "Only back up the System State date" on what to back up page and click on Next button.
Here click on Browse button to specify the destination for backup file and also set backup file name under "Type a name for this backup" box then click on Next button.
Now verify your selected settings and click on Finish button to start backup process.
Hardware and Software Troubleshooting Tips | Virus Removal Tips | Best Anti-virus | Speeding Up Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7 | Networking Tips | UNIX and LINUX Usability | Installation Procedure Of Various Operating Systems | computer repair | computer problems.
How to increase your Laptop Battery's Life?
Follow the few steps to increase the laptop battery's life:
Lower the backlighting on your screen.
The screen of your Laptop takes up significant amount of power and you do not require its maximum brightness. You should have to check your system and decrease the screen brightness it to a comfortable point.

Stop your wireless signal when you are not using.
After turning off your Laptop can save max. 20 minutes of your laptop's battery time because WiFi can use a considerable quantity of power. By right clicking you can stop your WiFi signal when you are not using.

Manage the correct power scheme in XP
Windows XP contain a number of predetermined power plans, which control settings like how rapidly your laptop turns off and when your screen saver boots in. You can change your laptop power scheme by choosing Control Panel > Power Options. For max. Battery life from the "Power scheme" chooses the option "Max. Battery" and decline the list. There are good choices for you just like "Low Power Mode" and Portable /Laptop. They don't conserve as much power as Max Battery. After selecting a power scheme you click Ok button to finish the process.
Lower the backlighting on your screen.
The screen of your Laptop takes up significant amount of power and you do not require its maximum brightness. You should have to check your system and decrease the screen brightness it to a comfortable point.

Stop your wireless signal when you are not using.
After turning off your Laptop can save max. 20 minutes of your laptop's battery time because WiFi can use a considerable quantity of power. By right clicking you can stop your WiFi signal when you are not using.

Manage the correct power scheme in XP
Windows XP contain a number of predetermined power plans, which control settings like how rapidly your laptop turns off and when your screen saver boots in. You can change your laptop power scheme by choosing Control Panel > Power Options. For max. Battery life from the "Power scheme" chooses the option "Max. Battery" and decline the list. There are good choices for you just like "Low Power Mode" and Portable /Laptop. They don't conserve as much power as Max Battery. After selecting a power scheme you click Ok button to finish the process.
Windows Vista startup process
The startup process of Microsoft's Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 operating systems is slightly different from previous versions.
Contents
* 1 Boot sequence
* 2 Windows Boot Manager
* 3 Boot Configuration Data
* 4 winload.exe
* 5 See also
* 6 References
* 7 External links
Boot sequence
The sequence of booting Windows Vista is slightly different from any previous version of Windows that uses the NT kernel. First, when the computer is switched on, either the BIOS or the EFI is loaded. In the case of a BIOS system, the MBR of the boot disk, which can be a hard drive or external media, is accessed, followed by the boot sector of the drive or of the relevant hard disk partition. This boot sector then loads the rest of the boot blocks. For Windows Vista, the boot sector loads the Windows Boot Manager (with filename BOOTMGR), which accesses the Boot Configuration Data store and uses the information to load the final stage, the operating system.
Windows Boot Manager
The Windows Boot Manager reads the Boot Configuration Data and "displays an operating system selection menu",[1] and is thus, in some respects, equivalent to the boot selection menu functionality of NTLDR in prior versions of Windows NT.
To maintain a consistent boot experience on Extensible Firmware Interface systems which also have a boot manager of their own, the Windows Boot Manager, and hence all of the installed Windows operating systems that can be booted using it, appear as a single entry on the EFI boot manager menu. (On EFI systems, the Windows Boot Manager is an EFI application stored on the EFI System Partition.) Microsoft only adds multiple entries to the Windows Boot Manager(BCD) menu itself, and sets the timeout of the EFI boot manager to 2 seconds.
Boot Configuration Data
Boot Configuration Data (BCD) is a firmware-independent database for boot-time configuration data. It replaces the boot.ini that was used by NTLDR, and is used by Microsoft's new Windows Boot Manager.[2]
Boot Configuration Data is stored in a data file (formatted in the same way as a Windows registry hive) that is located either on the EFI System Partition (on machines that use Extensible Firmware Interface firmware) or in \Boot\Bcd on the system volume (on machines that use IBM PC compatible firmware).
Boot Configuration Data may be altered using a command-line tool (bcdedit.exe), by using Windows Management Instrumentation, or with 3rd party tools like EasyBCD which allow for more advanced configuration and support for non-Windows operating systems.
Boot Configuration Data contain the menu entries that are presented by the Windows Boot Manager, just as boot.ini contained the menu entries that were presented by NTLDR. These menu entries can include:
* Options to boot Windows Vista by invoking winload.exe.
* Options to resume Windows Vista from hibernation by invoking winresume.exe.
* Options to boot a prior version of the Windows NT family by invoking its NTLDR.
* Options to load and to execute a Volume Boot Record.
Boot Configuration Data allows for third party integration so anyone can implement tools like diagnostics or recovery options.
winload.exe
winload.exe is the operating system boot loader. It is invoked by the Windows Boot Manager in order to load the operating system kernel (ntoskrnl.exe) and (boot-class) device drivers, and is in that respect functionally equivalent to (the operating system loader functionality of) NTLDR in prior versions of Windows NT.
Contents
* 1 Boot sequence
* 2 Windows Boot Manager
* 3 Boot Configuration Data
* 4 winload.exe
* 5 See also
* 6 References
* 7 External links
Boot sequence
The sequence of booting Windows Vista is slightly different from any previous version of Windows that uses the NT kernel. First, when the computer is switched on, either the BIOS or the EFI is loaded. In the case of a BIOS system, the MBR of the boot disk, which can be a hard drive or external media, is accessed, followed by the boot sector of the drive or of the relevant hard disk partition. This boot sector then loads the rest of the boot blocks. For Windows Vista, the boot sector loads the Windows Boot Manager (with filename BOOTMGR), which accesses the Boot Configuration Data store and uses the information to load the final stage, the operating system.
Windows Boot Manager
The Windows Boot Manager reads the Boot Configuration Data and "displays an operating system selection menu",[1] and is thus, in some respects, equivalent to the boot selection menu functionality of NTLDR in prior versions of Windows NT.
To maintain a consistent boot experience on Extensible Firmware Interface systems which also have a boot manager of their own, the Windows Boot Manager, and hence all of the installed Windows operating systems that can be booted using it, appear as a single entry on the EFI boot manager menu. (On EFI systems, the Windows Boot Manager is an EFI application stored on the EFI System Partition.) Microsoft only adds multiple entries to the Windows Boot Manager(BCD) menu itself, and sets the timeout of the EFI boot manager to 2 seconds.
Boot Configuration Data
Boot Configuration Data (BCD) is a firmware-independent database for boot-time configuration data. It replaces the boot.ini that was used by NTLDR, and is used by Microsoft's new Windows Boot Manager.[2]
Boot Configuration Data is stored in a data file (formatted in the same way as a Windows registry hive) that is located either on the EFI System Partition (on machines that use Extensible Firmware Interface firmware) or in \Boot\Bcd on the system volume (on machines that use IBM PC compatible firmware).
Boot Configuration Data may be altered using a command-line tool (bcdedit.exe), by using Windows Management Instrumentation, or with 3rd party tools like EasyBCD which allow for more advanced configuration and support for non-Windows operating systems.
Boot Configuration Data contain the menu entries that are presented by the Windows Boot Manager, just as boot.ini contained the menu entries that were presented by NTLDR. These menu entries can include:
* Options to boot Windows Vista by invoking winload.exe.
* Options to resume Windows Vista from hibernation by invoking winresume.exe.
* Options to boot a prior version of the Windows NT family by invoking its NTLDR.
* Options to load and to execute a Volume Boot Record.
Boot Configuration Data allows for third party integration so anyone can implement tools like diagnostics or recovery options.
winload.exe
winload.exe is the operating system boot loader. It is invoked by the Windows Boot Manager in order to load the operating system kernel (ntoskrnl.exe) and (boot-class) device drivers, and is in that respect functionally equivalent to (the operating system loader functionality of) NTLDR in prior versions of Windows NT.
system errors and freezes for Illustrator CS3/CS4 (Vista)
1. Make sure that the system meets the minimum requirements for Illustrator CS3.
Illustrator may not run correctly on a system that doesn't meet the following requirements:
* Intel Pentium 4 or Pentium 5, Centrino or equivalent processor
* Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium, Business, Enterprise Ultimate (certified support for 32-bit editions only)
* 1GB recommended; 512 MB minimum
* 2GB of available hard-disk space
* 1024 x 768 minimum screen resolution 16-bit video card (24-bit screen display recommended)
* Internet or phone connection required for product activation
* DVD-ROM drive
To check basic system information, such as processor speed and how much RAM is installed, choose Start > Control Panel > System.
2. Install the latest version of Illustrator.
The latest version of Illustrator may be more compatible with the operating system and drivers. Before you install an update or upgrade, make sure that the system meets the requirements.
Updates are available from the Adobe website at www.adobe.com/support/downloads. An upgrade, however, may solve a wider range of problems. (You may prefer to try the tasks in the rest of this document before upgrading.) You can purchase upgrades from Adobe Authorized Resellers and from Adobe directly:
* To locate an Authorized Reseller, visit the Adobe website at http://partners.adobe.com/resellerfinde ... seller.jsp and choose your country or region from the menu at the top of the page.
* To purchase an upgrade from Adobe, visit the Adobe Store at http://store.adobe.com/store and choose your country or region from the menu at the top of the page.
* To contact Adobe Customer Service in your region for assistance, visit the Adobe website at www.adobe.com, select your region from the menu at the top of the page, and then click Contact Us.
3. Install current Windows service packs and other updates.
Updates to the Windows operating system improve its performance and compatibility with applications. You can obtain Windows service packs and other updates from the Microsoft website at www.windowsupdate.com. For assistance installing service packs and other updates, contact Microsoft technical support.
Important: Before you install a system update, check the system requirements for Illustrator CS3 (and any third-party software or hardware you may use with Illustrator to ensure compatibility. If the update isn't listed, then contact Adobe or the manufacturer of your third-party software or hardware.
4. Re-create the Illustrator preferences file.
Re-create the Illustrator preferences file to eliminate problems that a damaged preference file might cause.
Note: When you re-create the preferences file, unsaved actions are lost. To save actions that you created, choose Save Actions from the Actions palette menu.
To re-create the Illustrator preferences file:
1. Quit Illustrator.
2. Rename the AIPrefs file (for example, to AIPrefs.old) in the Users/(user)/AppData/Roaming/Adobe/Adobe Illustrator CS3 Settings folder.
3. Start Illustrator. Illustrator creates a new preferences file.
If the problem continues, then the AIPrefs file isn't the cause. To restore custom settings, delete the new AIPrefs file and restore the original name of the previous AIPrefs file.
5. Run Illustrator CS3 while no other applications are running.
Some applications or services may cause system errors or freezes when running concurrently with Illustrator. Before starting Illustrator, disable other applications, including startup items and services (items that start automatically with Windows).
To disable startup items and non Microsoft services:
1. Quit all applications.
2. Choose Start, type msconfig in the Search text box, and press Enter.
3. Write down all unselected items under the Startup and Services tabs.
4. Click the General tab, and choose Selective Startup.
5. Click the Startup tab and select Disable All.
6. Reselect FLEXnet Licensing Service and select any startup items that are essential for testing the problem. If you are unsure whether an item is essential, leave it deselected (disabled).
7. Click the Services tab, and check Hide All Microsoft Services.
8. Select Disable All then re-select any services that are essential for testing the problem. If you are unsure whether an item is essential, leave it deselected (disabled).
9. Click Apply, and restart Windows for the changes to take effect.
Note: Upon restart, you'll be notified that the System Configuration utility has made changes to the way that Windows starts up. Click OK. When the System Configuration utility appears click Cancel.
10. Right-click icons in the Notification Area and close or disable any startup items that are still active.
Then, try to re-create the problem:
* If the problem no longer occurs, one of the startup items is the cause of the problem.
* If the problem recurs, startup items are not the cause of the problem and you can re-enable them:
1. Choose Start, type msconfig in the Search text box, and press Enter.
2. Click the General tab, and choose Normal Startup.
3. Deselect any items that you wrote down in Step 3 of the previous section.
4. Click Apply, and restart Windows for the changes to take effect.
6. Change the Windows default printer.
Some system errors or freezes may be caused by an incompatible printer driver. To determine if the driver for the current default printer is causing the problem in Illustrator, change the default printer.
To change the default printer:
1. Choose Start > Control Panel > Printers.
2. The current default printer is indicated by a check mark. Right-click on a different printer, or right-click on a document printer, such as Adobe PDF or Microsoft XPS Document Writer. Do not right-click on a network printer.
3. Choose Set As Default Printer from the menu.
Note: If no printer other than the current default printer is available, then create a virtual PostScript printer and set it as the default by doing the following:
1. In the Printers window, click Add A Printer. The Add Printer Wizard will open.
2. In the Add Printer Wizard, click Add A Local Printer.
3. Select Use An Existing Port. Choose FILE from the pop-up menu. Click Next.
4. Select a PostScript printer, such as Canon GP200/GP215 PostScript, HP LaserJet 4050 Series PS, or Lexmark Optra Color 45 PS. (The names of PostScript printers in the list generally end in "PostScript" or "PS.") Click Next.
5. Type Virtual Printer in the Printer Name text box. Select Set As The Default Printer. Click Next.
6. When the Add Printer Wizard displays the message "You've successfully added Virtual Printer," click Finish.
Once you have changed the default printer, try to re-create the problem in Illustrator. Then do one of the following:
*If the problem still occurs, then a printer driver is not the cause of the problem. Restore the previous default printer and proceed to task 7.
*If the problem no longer occurs, then install or reinstall the latest version of the driver for the previous default printer. (Go to the printer manufacturer's web site to download the latest driver.) Once you have installed the latest driver, open Printers in the Control Panel and restore that printer as the default printer. Then try again to re-create the problem in Illustrator. If the problem returns, then set the default printer back to the different printer or virtual PostScript printer that you chose in the steps above. Then, when you wish to print to your actual preferred printer from Illustrator, select that printer in the Print dialog.
7. Troubleshoot third-party plug-ins.
Remove third-party plug-ins from the Illustrator plug-ins folder, and then restart Illustrator. If the problem recurs, then move the plug-ins back to the Illustrator plug-ins folder and proceed to the next section of this document, "Intermediate troubleshooting." If the problem doesn't recur, then identify and address conflicting plug-ins.
To identify and address conflicting plug-ins:
1. Move one third-party plug-in back to the Illustrator plug-ins folder.
2. Restart Illustrator, and try to re-create the problem.
3. If the problem doesn't recur, then begin again at step 1. If the problem does recur, then contact the developer of the plug-in that you last moved, and inquire about an update.
Intermediate troubleshooting
If the tasks in the previous section don't solve the problem, then try the following intermediate troubleshooting tasks.
8. Reinstall Illustrator CS3 in Low resolution mode.
Note: You must install Illustrator CS3 in Low resolution mode, as the installer isn't compatible with Safe mode.
Device drivers and software that loads automatically with Windows (for example, screen savers and virus protection utilities) can conflict with the Illustrator installer and cause problems in Illustrator. To prevent conflict, reinstall Illustrator while Windows is in Low resolution mode. In Low resolution mode, nonstandard device drivers and startup software are disabled.
If reinstalling in Low resolution mode doesn't resolve the issue, then try installing and running Illustrator on a different computer, or on a different hard drive.
To reinstall Illustrator CS3 in Low resolution mode:
1. Move any personal files out of the Illustrator folder and it's subfolders
2. Uninstall Illustrator.
- If you installed Illustrator from the Illustrator CS3 DVD, choose Start > Settings > Control Panel > Uninstall a Program. Select Illustrator CS3 and click Uninstall/Change. Follow the on-screen instructions.
- If you installed Illustrator from any version of the Creative Suite 3 (Web, Design, Standard, Premium, etc.), choose Start > Settings > Control Panel > Uninstall a Program. Select Adobe Creative Suite 3 (Version of Suite) and click Uninstall/Change. Follow the on-screen instructions to uninstall the Illustrator component of the suite.
3. Choose Start, type msconfig in the Search text box, and press Enter.
4. Write down all unselected items under the Startup and Services tabs.
5. Click the General tab, and choose Diagnostic Startup.
6. Click Apply, and restart Windows for the changes to take effect.
7. Press the F8 key before Windows starts, when you see a message such as "For Advanced Startup Options.รข
8. Select Enable low-resolution video (640x480) from the list of startup options and press Enter.
9. Install Illustrator from the installation media.
10. Re-enable the disabled Startup items and services. To re-enable startup items and services:
* Choose Start, type msconfig in the Search text box, and press Enter.
* Click the General tab, and choose Normal Startup.
* Deselect any items that you wrote down in Step 3 of the previous section.
* Click Apply, and restart Windows for the changes to take effect.
9. Run Illustrator in a new user account.
Create a new user account that has the same permissions as the account that you use when the problem occurs. If the problem doesn't recur, then the original user account may be damaged. For instructions on creating a new user account, see "To add a new user to the computer" in Windows Help or contact your system administrator.
10. Disable UAC (User Access Control).
Important: This procedure involves disabling User Access Control. This feature is intended to prevent administrative accounts from performing undesired actions that may affect the system. Disabling UAC removes these notifications. You must restart your system after you disable or re-enable UAC.
For more information on UAC, see the Microsoft Windows Vista support site.
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click User Accounts.
3. Select Turn User Account Control On Or Off.
4. Deselect Use User Account Control (UAC) To Help Protect Your Computer and click OK.
5. Click Restart Now.
To re-enable UAC:
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click User Accounts.
3. Select Turn User Account Control On Or Off.
4. Select Use User Account Control (UAC) To Help Protect Your Computer and click OK.
5. Click Restart Now.
11. Update the video card driver.
Many video card manufacturers frequently update their software drivers. If you haven't recently updated the video card driver, contact the video card manufacturer for an updated driver, or download one from the manufacturer's website. (To determine the manufacturer of a video card, view the card's properties in Device Manager.)
12. Disable Windows Aero.
Aero is a new hardware-based graphical user interface in Windows Vista. It is intended to offer more advanced features than are available in the standard interface, including new transparencies and animations.
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click Personalization and select Window Color and Appearance.
3. Select Windows Color And Appearance.
4. Click Open Classic Appearance Properties For More Color Options.
5. Select a Color Scheme other than Windows Aero and click OK.
6. Re-create the problem behavior, and then do one of the following:
* If the problem doesn't recur, then Aero is the cause.
* If the problem recurs, then Aero isn't the cause. Re-enable Aero.
To re-enable Aero, do the following:
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click Personalization and select Window Color and Appearance.
3. Select Windows Color And Appearance.
4. Choose Windows Aero from the Color Scheme menu and click OK.
13. Verify that other device drivers are compatible with Windows Vista.
If updating the video card driver doesn't resolve the problem, then verify that all other device drivers are compatible with Windows Vista. Device drivers are software files that allow Windows to communicate with devices such as scanners, mouse devices, and keyboards. Contact the device manufacturer to make sure that you are using the latest driver for it.
To check for device driver problems:
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click System.
3. Click Device Manager in the Tasks pane.
4. Click the plus sign (+) to the left of each device type.
5. If a device appears with a black exclamation mark (!) in a yellow circle, then right-click that device, and choose Properties from the menu.
6. Note the properties for the device:
* Check the Device Status field: If the device isn't working properly, information in this field can help you troubleshoot the problem.
* If the Properties dialog box has a Driver tab, then click it. If the Driver tab doesn't indicate the driver provider, then click Driver Details. If Microsoft is the provider, then a generic driver is probably installed; contact the device manufacturer to obtain the most recent driver that they provide
14. Optimize handling of temporary files by Windows Vista.
Windows and applications store working data in temporary (.tmp) files that they create on the hard disk. Excessive or outdated temporary files can interfere with performance of Windows or applications.
Delete temporary files by using the Disk Cleanup utility included with Windows or by using the following instructions. Make sure that at least 1 GB of free space is available on the hard disk to which temporary files are written. To start Disk Cleanup, choose Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk Cleanup. For information about Disk Cleanup, see Windows Help.
To manually delete temporary files:
Note: Windows deletes temporary files when Windows and applications close normally. However, when Windows or an application crashes, temporary files can accumulate on the hard disk. Windows may prevent you from deleting some temporary files as they may be in use. Delete as many temporary files as you possibly can, without deleting the files that are in use.
1. Quit all applications.
2. Choose Start and type %tmp% in the Search text box and press Enter.
3. Delete the contents of this folder.
4. Note the drive letter where this directory is located.
To ensure that at least 1 GB of free space is available on the hard disk to which temporary files are written:
5. Choose Start > My Computer.
6. Select the drive noted in step 4. Right click and select Properties.
7. Confirm the drive has at least 1 GB of free space.
15. Set the virtual memory paging file to the default size.
Virtual memory allows the system to use hard disk space to store information normally stored in RAM. Windows Vista manages virtual memory by using a paging file. You specify the minimum and maximum size of this file. If the size is different from the default in Windows Vista, applications may return errors. However, some applications may require a non-default size for the paging file. Change the size only if other applications aren't adversely affected.
To set the paging file to the default size:
Note: You must be logged on as an administrator to change the size of the paging file.
1. Quit all applications.
2. Choose Start > Control Panel.
3. Double click System and select Advanced system settings from the Tasks pane.
4. Click the Advanced tab, and then click Settings in the Performance area.
5. Click the Advanced tab, and then click Change in the Virtual Memory area.
Note: Before you proceed to the next step you may need to deselect the Automatically manage paging file size for all drives checkbox.
6. From the Drive list, select a hard-disk partition that has free space equal to at least three times the amount of the computer's installed RAM. To determine the amount of space available on a hard-disk partition, click the drive letter; the amount of space available appears in the Paging File Size For Selected Drive area.
7. In the Initial Size box, enter a value equal to one and a half times the amount of the computer's installed RAM.
8. In the Maximum Size box, enter a value equal to twice the amount of the Initial Size value.
9. Click Set, and then click OK to close the Virtual Memory dialog box.
10. Click OK to the alert "The changes you have made require you to restart your computer . . ."
11. Click OK to close the Performance Options dialog box, and then click OK to close the System Properties dialog box.
12. Click Restart Now to restart your system.
16. Optimize scratch disks.
When insufficient RAM is available for bitmap image editing, Illustrator uses a scratch disk file--temporary disk space used for storing data and performing computations. Illustrator can create two scratch disk files of up to 2 GB each. Each scratch disk file must be on a separate partition.
The partition you specify as the primary scratch disk should have free space equal to three to five times the size of the average image file; specify a secondary scratch disk if you have an additional partition. If disk space is insufficient, then delete temporary files (see task 13) or remove other files from the hard disks.
To specify a scratch disk in Illustrator, choose Edit > Preferences > Plug-ins & Scratch Disk.
17. Repair and defragment hard disks.
System errors can occur if hard disks contain damaged sectors or fragmented files. Repair and defragment hard disks, either by using the Error-checking tool and Disk Defragmenter utility included with Windows or by using a third-party disk utility (for example, Symantec Norton Utilities). You should run such utilities on each hard disk or partition. More information about the Error-checking tool and Disk Defragmenter appears below; for more information about a third-party disk utility, refer to the documentation for the utility.
The Error-checking tool repairs bad sectors, lost allocation units and file fragments, cross-linked files, and invalid file names. To access the Error-checking tool, choose Start > Computer, right-click the desired hard disk, and choose Properties from the menu. In the Local Disk Properties dialog box, click the Tools tab, and then click Check Now in the Error-checking area.
Note: To prevent Disk Defragmenter from moving files to bad sectors of a disk, run the Error-checking tool before running Disk Defragmenter.
Disk Defragmenter rearranges the files and free space on your computer so that files are stored in contiguous units and free space is consolidated in one contiguous block. To access the Disk Defragmenter utility, choose Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk Defragmenter.
18. Scan the system for viruses.
Use current anti-virus software (for example, Symantec Norton Antivirus or McAfee Virus Scan) to check the system for viruses. Virus infections can damage software and cause system errors. For more information, see the documentation for the anti-virus software.
Advanced troubleshooting
If the tasks in the previous section don't resolve the problem, then you may be able to resolve the problem by reinstalling Windows Vista and Illustrator, reformatting your hard disk and reinstalling Windows Vista and Illustrator, or by determining if hardware is conflicting with Illustrator.
Disclaimer: Adobe doesn't support hardware and provides these procedures as a courtesy only. For further assistance, contact the hardware manufacturer or an authorized reseller. If you troubleshoot hardware problems yourself, then you may void the warranty for your computer.
Note: Before you remove or rearrange hardware, turn off and disconnect power to the computer and any peripheral devices.
19. Log in using the built-in Administrator account.
The built-in Administrator account has a higher access level to the system than a normal local administrator account. By default the built-in Administrator account is disabled. For information about enabling and logging in to the built-in Administrator account, contact your system administrator. You can also refer to this support document on the Microsoft support website: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/926183/ ... 737&sid=73.
20. Check for problems with RAM modules.
Ensure that the RAM modules are installed properly and are not the cause of your problem. Do one or more of the following:
* Change the order of the installed modules.
* Remove all but the minimum number of modules needed to run Windows and Illustrator, and test to see if the problem persists. If it does, replace the modules you removed and remove the others, testing again to see if the problem recurs. If it doesn't, then one or more of the removed modules are the cause. For assistance, contact the RAM manufacturer.
21. Contact Adobe Technical Support.
If none of the above steps has resolved the error or freeze that you are experiencing with Illustrator, then you need to contact Adobe Technical Support. You can find the support options at the Support Center.
Illustrator may not run correctly on a system that doesn't meet the following requirements:
* Intel Pentium 4 or Pentium 5, Centrino or equivalent processor
* Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium, Business, Enterprise Ultimate (certified support for 32-bit editions only)
* 1GB recommended; 512 MB minimum
* 2GB of available hard-disk space
* 1024 x 768 minimum screen resolution 16-bit video card (24-bit screen display recommended)
* Internet or phone connection required for product activation
* DVD-ROM drive
To check basic system information, such as processor speed and how much RAM is installed, choose Start > Control Panel > System.
2. Install the latest version of Illustrator.
The latest version of Illustrator may be more compatible with the operating system and drivers. Before you install an update or upgrade, make sure that the system meets the requirements.
Updates are available from the Adobe website at www.adobe.com/support/downloads. An upgrade, however, may solve a wider range of problems. (You may prefer to try the tasks in the rest of this document before upgrading.) You can purchase upgrades from Adobe Authorized Resellers and from Adobe directly:
* To locate an Authorized Reseller, visit the Adobe website at http://partners.adobe.com/resellerfinde ... seller.jsp and choose your country or region from the menu at the top of the page.
* To purchase an upgrade from Adobe, visit the Adobe Store at http://store.adobe.com/store and choose your country or region from the menu at the top of the page.
* To contact Adobe Customer Service in your region for assistance, visit the Adobe website at www.adobe.com, select your region from the menu at the top of the page, and then click Contact Us.
3. Install current Windows service packs and other updates.
Updates to the Windows operating system improve its performance and compatibility with applications. You can obtain Windows service packs and other updates from the Microsoft website at www.windowsupdate.com. For assistance installing service packs and other updates, contact Microsoft technical support.
Important: Before you install a system update, check the system requirements for Illustrator CS3 (and any third-party software or hardware you may use with Illustrator to ensure compatibility. If the update isn't listed, then contact Adobe or the manufacturer of your third-party software or hardware.
4. Re-create the Illustrator preferences file.
Re-create the Illustrator preferences file to eliminate problems that a damaged preference file might cause.
Note: When you re-create the preferences file, unsaved actions are lost. To save actions that you created, choose Save Actions from the Actions palette menu.
To re-create the Illustrator preferences file:
1. Quit Illustrator.
2. Rename the AIPrefs file (for example, to AIPrefs.old) in the Users/(user)/AppData/Roaming/Adobe/Adobe Illustrator CS3 Settings folder.
3. Start Illustrator. Illustrator creates a new preferences file.
If the problem continues, then the AIPrefs file isn't the cause. To restore custom settings, delete the new AIPrefs file and restore the original name of the previous AIPrefs file.
5. Run Illustrator CS3 while no other applications are running.
Some applications or services may cause system errors or freezes when running concurrently with Illustrator. Before starting Illustrator, disable other applications, including startup items and services (items that start automatically with Windows).
To disable startup items and non Microsoft services:
1. Quit all applications.
2. Choose Start, type msconfig in the Search text box, and press Enter.
3. Write down all unselected items under the Startup and Services tabs.
4. Click the General tab, and choose Selective Startup.
5. Click the Startup tab and select Disable All.
6. Reselect FLEXnet Licensing Service and select any startup items that are essential for testing the problem. If you are unsure whether an item is essential, leave it deselected (disabled).
7. Click the Services tab, and check Hide All Microsoft Services.
8. Select Disable All then re-select any services that are essential for testing the problem. If you are unsure whether an item is essential, leave it deselected (disabled).
9. Click Apply, and restart Windows for the changes to take effect.
Note: Upon restart, you'll be notified that the System Configuration utility has made changes to the way that Windows starts up. Click OK. When the System Configuration utility appears click Cancel.
10. Right-click icons in the Notification Area and close or disable any startup items that are still active.
Then, try to re-create the problem:
* If the problem no longer occurs, one of the startup items is the cause of the problem.
* If the problem recurs, startup items are not the cause of the problem and you can re-enable them:
1. Choose Start, type msconfig in the Search text box, and press Enter.
2. Click the General tab, and choose Normal Startup.
3. Deselect any items that you wrote down in Step 3 of the previous section.
4. Click Apply, and restart Windows for the changes to take effect.
6. Change the Windows default printer.
Some system errors or freezes may be caused by an incompatible printer driver. To determine if the driver for the current default printer is causing the problem in Illustrator, change the default printer.
To change the default printer:
1. Choose Start > Control Panel > Printers.
2. The current default printer is indicated by a check mark. Right-click on a different printer, or right-click on a document printer, such as Adobe PDF or Microsoft XPS Document Writer. Do not right-click on a network printer.
3. Choose Set As Default Printer from the menu.
Note: If no printer other than the current default printer is available, then create a virtual PostScript printer and set it as the default by doing the following:
1. In the Printers window, click Add A Printer. The Add Printer Wizard will open.
2. In the Add Printer Wizard, click Add A Local Printer.
3. Select Use An Existing Port. Choose FILE from the pop-up menu. Click Next.
4. Select a PostScript printer, such as Canon GP200/GP215 PostScript, HP LaserJet 4050 Series PS, or Lexmark Optra Color 45 PS. (The names of PostScript printers in the list generally end in "PostScript" or "PS.") Click Next.
5. Type Virtual Printer in the Printer Name text box. Select Set As The Default Printer. Click Next.
6. When the Add Printer Wizard displays the message "You've successfully added Virtual Printer," click Finish.
Once you have changed the default printer, try to re-create the problem in Illustrator. Then do one of the following:
*If the problem still occurs, then a printer driver is not the cause of the problem. Restore the previous default printer and proceed to task 7.
*If the problem no longer occurs, then install or reinstall the latest version of the driver for the previous default printer. (Go to the printer manufacturer's web site to download the latest driver.) Once you have installed the latest driver, open Printers in the Control Panel and restore that printer as the default printer. Then try again to re-create the problem in Illustrator. If the problem returns, then set the default printer back to the different printer or virtual PostScript printer that you chose in the steps above. Then, when you wish to print to your actual preferred printer from Illustrator, select that printer in the Print dialog.
7. Troubleshoot third-party plug-ins.
Remove third-party plug-ins from the Illustrator plug-ins folder, and then restart Illustrator. If the problem recurs, then move the plug-ins back to the Illustrator plug-ins folder and proceed to the next section of this document, "Intermediate troubleshooting." If the problem doesn't recur, then identify and address conflicting plug-ins.
To identify and address conflicting plug-ins:
1. Move one third-party plug-in back to the Illustrator plug-ins folder.
2. Restart Illustrator, and try to re-create the problem.
3. If the problem doesn't recur, then begin again at step 1. If the problem does recur, then contact the developer of the plug-in that you last moved, and inquire about an update.
Intermediate troubleshooting
If the tasks in the previous section don't solve the problem, then try the following intermediate troubleshooting tasks.
8. Reinstall Illustrator CS3 in Low resolution mode.
Note: You must install Illustrator CS3 in Low resolution mode, as the installer isn't compatible with Safe mode.
Device drivers and software that loads automatically with Windows (for example, screen savers and virus protection utilities) can conflict with the Illustrator installer and cause problems in Illustrator. To prevent conflict, reinstall Illustrator while Windows is in Low resolution mode. In Low resolution mode, nonstandard device drivers and startup software are disabled.
If reinstalling in Low resolution mode doesn't resolve the issue, then try installing and running Illustrator on a different computer, or on a different hard drive.
To reinstall Illustrator CS3 in Low resolution mode:
1. Move any personal files out of the Illustrator folder and it's subfolders
2. Uninstall Illustrator.
- If you installed Illustrator from the Illustrator CS3 DVD, choose Start > Settings > Control Panel > Uninstall a Program. Select Illustrator CS3 and click Uninstall/Change. Follow the on-screen instructions.
- If you installed Illustrator from any version of the Creative Suite 3 (Web, Design, Standard, Premium, etc.), choose Start > Settings > Control Panel > Uninstall a Program. Select Adobe Creative Suite 3 (Version of Suite) and click Uninstall/Change. Follow the on-screen instructions to uninstall the Illustrator component of the suite.
3. Choose Start, type msconfig in the Search text box, and press Enter.
4. Write down all unselected items under the Startup and Services tabs.
5. Click the General tab, and choose Diagnostic Startup.
6. Click Apply, and restart Windows for the changes to take effect.
7. Press the F8 key before Windows starts, when you see a message such as "For Advanced Startup Options.รข
8. Select Enable low-resolution video (640x480) from the list of startup options and press Enter.
9. Install Illustrator from the installation media.
10. Re-enable the disabled Startup items and services. To re-enable startup items and services:
* Choose Start, type msconfig in the Search text box, and press Enter.
* Click the General tab, and choose Normal Startup.
* Deselect any items that you wrote down in Step 3 of the previous section.
* Click Apply, and restart Windows for the changes to take effect.
9. Run Illustrator in a new user account.
Create a new user account that has the same permissions as the account that you use when the problem occurs. If the problem doesn't recur, then the original user account may be damaged. For instructions on creating a new user account, see "To add a new user to the computer" in Windows Help or contact your system administrator.
10. Disable UAC (User Access Control).
Important: This procedure involves disabling User Access Control. This feature is intended to prevent administrative accounts from performing undesired actions that may affect the system. Disabling UAC removes these notifications. You must restart your system after you disable or re-enable UAC.
For more information on UAC, see the Microsoft Windows Vista support site.
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click User Accounts.
3. Select Turn User Account Control On Or Off.
4. Deselect Use User Account Control (UAC) To Help Protect Your Computer and click OK.
5. Click Restart Now.
To re-enable UAC:
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click User Accounts.
3. Select Turn User Account Control On Or Off.
4. Select Use User Account Control (UAC) To Help Protect Your Computer and click OK.
5. Click Restart Now.
11. Update the video card driver.
Many video card manufacturers frequently update their software drivers. If you haven't recently updated the video card driver, contact the video card manufacturer for an updated driver, or download one from the manufacturer's website. (To determine the manufacturer of a video card, view the card's properties in Device Manager.)
12. Disable Windows Aero.
Aero is a new hardware-based graphical user interface in Windows Vista. It is intended to offer more advanced features than are available in the standard interface, including new transparencies and animations.
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click Personalization and select Window Color and Appearance.
3. Select Windows Color And Appearance.
4. Click Open Classic Appearance Properties For More Color Options.
5. Select a Color Scheme other than Windows Aero and click OK.
6. Re-create the problem behavior, and then do one of the following:
* If the problem doesn't recur, then Aero is the cause.
* If the problem recurs, then Aero isn't the cause. Re-enable Aero.
To re-enable Aero, do the following:
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click Personalization and select Window Color and Appearance.
3. Select Windows Color And Appearance.
4. Choose Windows Aero from the Color Scheme menu and click OK.
13. Verify that other device drivers are compatible with Windows Vista.
If updating the video card driver doesn't resolve the problem, then verify that all other device drivers are compatible with Windows Vista. Device drivers are software files that allow Windows to communicate with devices such as scanners, mouse devices, and keyboards. Contact the device manufacturer to make sure that you are using the latest driver for it.
To check for device driver problems:
1. Choose Start > Control Panel.
2. Double click System.
3. Click Device Manager in the Tasks pane.
4. Click the plus sign (+) to the left of each device type.
5. If a device appears with a black exclamation mark (!) in a yellow circle, then right-click that device, and choose Properties from the menu.
6. Note the properties for the device:
* Check the Device Status field: If the device isn't working properly, information in this field can help you troubleshoot the problem.
* If the Properties dialog box has a Driver tab, then click it. If the Driver tab doesn't indicate the driver provider, then click Driver Details. If Microsoft is the provider, then a generic driver is probably installed; contact the device manufacturer to obtain the most recent driver that they provide
14. Optimize handling of temporary files by Windows Vista.
Windows and applications store working data in temporary (.tmp) files that they create on the hard disk. Excessive or outdated temporary files can interfere with performance of Windows or applications.
Delete temporary files by using the Disk Cleanup utility included with Windows or by using the following instructions. Make sure that at least 1 GB of free space is available on the hard disk to which temporary files are written. To start Disk Cleanup, choose Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk Cleanup. For information about Disk Cleanup, see Windows Help.
To manually delete temporary files:
Note: Windows deletes temporary files when Windows and applications close normally. However, when Windows or an application crashes, temporary files can accumulate on the hard disk. Windows may prevent you from deleting some temporary files as they may be in use. Delete as many temporary files as you possibly can, without deleting the files that are in use.
1. Quit all applications.
2. Choose Start and type %tmp% in the Search text box and press Enter.
3. Delete the contents of this folder.
4. Note the drive letter where this directory is located.
To ensure that at least 1 GB of free space is available on the hard disk to which temporary files are written:
5. Choose Start > My Computer.
6. Select the drive noted in step 4. Right click and select Properties.
7. Confirm the drive has at least 1 GB of free space.
15. Set the virtual memory paging file to the default size.
Virtual memory allows the system to use hard disk space to store information normally stored in RAM. Windows Vista manages virtual memory by using a paging file. You specify the minimum and maximum size of this file. If the size is different from the default in Windows Vista, applications may return errors. However, some applications may require a non-default size for the paging file. Change the size only if other applications aren't adversely affected.
To set the paging file to the default size:
Note: You must be logged on as an administrator to change the size of the paging file.
1. Quit all applications.
2. Choose Start > Control Panel.
3. Double click System and select Advanced system settings from the Tasks pane.
4. Click the Advanced tab, and then click Settings in the Performance area.
5. Click the Advanced tab, and then click Change in the Virtual Memory area.
Note: Before you proceed to the next step you may need to deselect the Automatically manage paging file size for all drives checkbox.
6. From the Drive list, select a hard-disk partition that has free space equal to at least three times the amount of the computer's installed RAM. To determine the amount of space available on a hard-disk partition, click the drive letter; the amount of space available appears in the Paging File Size For Selected Drive area.
7. In the Initial Size box, enter a value equal to one and a half times the amount of the computer's installed RAM.
8. In the Maximum Size box, enter a value equal to twice the amount of the Initial Size value.
9. Click Set, and then click OK to close the Virtual Memory dialog box.
10. Click OK to the alert "The changes you have made require you to restart your computer . . ."
11. Click OK to close the Performance Options dialog box, and then click OK to close the System Properties dialog box.
12. Click Restart Now to restart your system.
16. Optimize scratch disks.
When insufficient RAM is available for bitmap image editing, Illustrator uses a scratch disk file--temporary disk space used for storing data and performing computations. Illustrator can create two scratch disk files of up to 2 GB each. Each scratch disk file must be on a separate partition.
The partition you specify as the primary scratch disk should have free space equal to three to five times the size of the average image file; specify a secondary scratch disk if you have an additional partition. If disk space is insufficient, then delete temporary files (see task 13) or remove other files from the hard disks.
To specify a scratch disk in Illustrator, choose Edit > Preferences > Plug-ins & Scratch Disk.
17. Repair and defragment hard disks.
System errors can occur if hard disks contain damaged sectors or fragmented files. Repair and defragment hard disks, either by using the Error-checking tool and Disk Defragmenter utility included with Windows or by using a third-party disk utility (for example, Symantec Norton Utilities). You should run such utilities on each hard disk or partition. More information about the Error-checking tool and Disk Defragmenter appears below; for more information about a third-party disk utility, refer to the documentation for the utility.
The Error-checking tool repairs bad sectors, lost allocation units and file fragments, cross-linked files, and invalid file names. To access the Error-checking tool, choose Start > Computer, right-click the desired hard disk, and choose Properties from the menu. In the Local Disk Properties dialog box, click the Tools tab, and then click Check Now in the Error-checking area.
Note: To prevent Disk Defragmenter from moving files to bad sectors of a disk, run the Error-checking tool before running Disk Defragmenter.
Disk Defragmenter rearranges the files and free space on your computer so that files are stored in contiguous units and free space is consolidated in one contiguous block. To access the Disk Defragmenter utility, choose Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk Defragmenter.
18. Scan the system for viruses.
Use current anti-virus software (for example, Symantec Norton Antivirus or McAfee Virus Scan) to check the system for viruses. Virus infections can damage software and cause system errors. For more information, see the documentation for the anti-virus software.
Advanced troubleshooting
If the tasks in the previous section don't resolve the problem, then you may be able to resolve the problem by reinstalling Windows Vista and Illustrator, reformatting your hard disk and reinstalling Windows Vista and Illustrator, or by determining if hardware is conflicting with Illustrator.
Disclaimer: Adobe doesn't support hardware and provides these procedures as a courtesy only. For further assistance, contact the hardware manufacturer or an authorized reseller. If you troubleshoot hardware problems yourself, then you may void the warranty for your computer.
Note: Before you remove or rearrange hardware, turn off and disconnect power to the computer and any peripheral devices.
19. Log in using the built-in Administrator account.
The built-in Administrator account has a higher access level to the system than a normal local administrator account. By default the built-in Administrator account is disabled. For information about enabling and logging in to the built-in Administrator account, contact your system administrator. You can also refer to this support document on the Microsoft support website: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/926183/ ... 737&sid=73.
20. Check for problems with RAM modules.
Ensure that the RAM modules are installed properly and are not the cause of your problem. Do one or more of the following:
* Change the order of the installed modules.
* Remove all but the minimum number of modules needed to run Windows and Illustrator, and test to see if the problem persists. If it does, replace the modules you removed and remove the others, testing again to see if the problem recurs. If it doesn't, then one or more of the removed modules are the cause. For assistance, contact the RAM manufacturer.
21. Contact Adobe Technical Support.
If none of the above steps has resolved the error or freeze that you are experiencing with Illustrator, then you need to contact Adobe Technical Support. You can find the support options at the Support Center.
Seven Golden Rules for Disk Maintenance
Let's begin with a proactive approach to file system maintenance. What steps should an administrator take to help prevent file system problems from happening in the first place? Here are my seven golden rules on the subject, in no particular order:
1. Upgrade your servers to Windows Server 2003. There's real value in doing this as far as disk maintenance is concerned, for example:
* The chkdsk command in Windows Server 2003 runs a lot faster than the Windows 2000 version of this utility, plus it can fix things like a corrupt Master File Table (MFT) that the previous version of the utility would choke on.
* Powerful new command-line tools like DiskPart.exe, Fsutil.exe and Defrag.exe give you more flexibility for managing disks from the command-line instead of the GUI. These tools can be scripted to automate common disk management tasks you need to perform on a regular basis.
* The new Automated System Recovery (ASR) feature greatly simplifies the task of restoring your system/boot volume in the event of catastrophic disk failure.
2. Use hardware redundancy. RAID 1 disk mirroring lets you recover from catastrophic system volume failure with zero downtime, while RAID 5 is a great way of protecting your data volumes. Windows servers include support for built-in software RAID but you'll get better performance and true hot-swap redundancy by investing more money and buying a hardware RAID controller for your system instead. Don't forget though, keep a few spare drives handy so you can swap them during an emergency—redundancy is useless if you don't have the redundant hardware around to use it. Note that if you do choose to go with the software RAID provided by Windows, mirroring your boot and system volumes requires that these volumes be one and the same i.e. one volume is both your boot volume (contains operating system files) and your system volume (contains hardware-specific boot files).
3. Use a good antivirus program. Viruses can be nasty, and one of the things they can do when they infect a machine is to corrupt the Master Boot Record (MBR) and other critical portions of your hard drives. Not only should you have AV installed on your servers, you should also avoid risky behaviors such as running scripts from untrusted sources, browsing the web, and so on. These are just the kinds of behavior that can lead to infecting your system, so avoid doing things like this on your production servers.
4. Defragment your file systems on a regular basis. This is especially important on servers on which a high number of transactional operations occur as the file systems can quickly become fragmented, dragging down the performance of applications running on your server. To perform a successful defrag you should really have at least 15% free space left on your disk, so make sure you don't let critical system or data disks fill up too much or they'll be harder to maintain. The new command-line Defrag.exe tool of Windows Server 2003 is useful here since you can schedule regular running of this tool during off-hours using the Schtasks.exe command instead of having to defrag manually or buy a third-party defrag tool.
5. Run chkdsk /r on a regular basis. This command finds bad sectors on your disk and tries to fix them by recovering data from them and moving it elsewhere. You can run this command either from a command-prompt window or from the Recovery Console if you can't boot your system normally. Remember that when you try and run chkdsk.exe on your system or boot volume, Windows configures autochk.exe (the boot version of chkdsk.exe) to run at your next reboot. This means you'll need to schedule downtime for your server when you perform this kind of maintenance so that autochk.exe can run.
6. Check your event logs regularly for any disk-related events. Windows sometimes determines on its own when a disk is "dirty" i.e. there are file system errors present on it. In that case, Windows automatically schedules autochk.exe to run at the next reboot, but it also writes an event to the Application log using either the source name "Chkdsk" or "Winlogon". So filter your Application log to view these kinds of events on a regular basis or collect them using Microsoft Operations Manager (MOM) or whatever other systems management tool you use on your network.
7. Back up all your volumes regularly. As a last recourse in the event of a disaster, having working backups of both your system/boot volume and data volumes is critical. ASR in Windows Server 2003 makes backing up the boot/system volume easier, while backing up your data volumes can be done using the Windows Backup (ntbackup.exe) tool or any other backup tool such as one from a third-party vendor. Whatever way you choose to back up your system, do it regularly and verify your backups to ensure you can recover your system using them.
8. (the Platinum rule) If your disk starts to make funny sounds, don't ignore them—do something. Disk failure is often preceded by funny sounds emanating from your computer. These clicking, scraping, screeching, or other types of sounds mean trouble, so when you hear them it's time to make sure you've got a recent backup and a spare disk handy just in case. And it's also time to check your event logs, run chkdsk –r, and use other maintenance and troubleshooting tools to check the health of your disks. Don't ignore these funny sounds!
1. Upgrade your servers to Windows Server 2003. There's real value in doing this as far as disk maintenance is concerned, for example:
* The chkdsk command in Windows Server 2003 runs a lot faster than the Windows 2000 version of this utility, plus it can fix things like a corrupt Master File Table (MFT) that the previous version of the utility would choke on.
* Powerful new command-line tools like DiskPart.exe, Fsutil.exe and Defrag.exe give you more flexibility for managing disks from the command-line instead of the GUI. These tools can be scripted to automate common disk management tasks you need to perform on a regular basis.
* The new Automated System Recovery (ASR) feature greatly simplifies the task of restoring your system/boot volume in the event of catastrophic disk failure.
2. Use hardware redundancy. RAID 1 disk mirroring lets you recover from catastrophic system volume failure with zero downtime, while RAID 5 is a great way of protecting your data volumes. Windows servers include support for built-in software RAID but you'll get better performance and true hot-swap redundancy by investing more money and buying a hardware RAID controller for your system instead. Don't forget though, keep a few spare drives handy so you can swap them during an emergency—redundancy is useless if you don't have the redundant hardware around to use it. Note that if you do choose to go with the software RAID provided by Windows, mirroring your boot and system volumes requires that these volumes be one and the same i.e. one volume is both your boot volume (contains operating system files) and your system volume (contains hardware-specific boot files).
3. Use a good antivirus program. Viruses can be nasty, and one of the things they can do when they infect a machine is to corrupt the Master Boot Record (MBR) and other critical portions of your hard drives. Not only should you have AV installed on your servers, you should also avoid risky behaviors such as running scripts from untrusted sources, browsing the web, and so on. These are just the kinds of behavior that can lead to infecting your system, so avoid doing things like this on your production servers.
4. Defragment your file systems on a regular basis. This is especially important on servers on which a high number of transactional operations occur as the file systems can quickly become fragmented, dragging down the performance of applications running on your server. To perform a successful defrag you should really have at least 15% free space left on your disk, so make sure you don't let critical system or data disks fill up too much or they'll be harder to maintain. The new command-line Defrag.exe tool of Windows Server 2003 is useful here since you can schedule regular running of this tool during off-hours using the Schtasks.exe command instead of having to defrag manually or buy a third-party defrag tool.
5. Run chkdsk /r on a regular basis. This command finds bad sectors on your disk and tries to fix them by recovering data from them and moving it elsewhere. You can run this command either from a command-prompt window or from the Recovery Console if you can't boot your system normally. Remember that when you try and run chkdsk.exe on your system or boot volume, Windows configures autochk.exe (the boot version of chkdsk.exe) to run at your next reboot. This means you'll need to schedule downtime for your server when you perform this kind of maintenance so that autochk.exe can run.
6. Check your event logs regularly for any disk-related events. Windows sometimes determines on its own when a disk is "dirty" i.e. there are file system errors present on it. In that case, Windows automatically schedules autochk.exe to run at the next reboot, but it also writes an event to the Application log using either the source name "Chkdsk" or "Winlogon". So filter your Application log to view these kinds of events on a regular basis or collect them using Microsoft Operations Manager (MOM) or whatever other systems management tool you use on your network.
7. Back up all your volumes regularly. As a last recourse in the event of a disaster, having working backups of both your system/boot volume and data volumes is critical. ASR in Windows Server 2003 makes backing up the boot/system volume easier, while backing up your data volumes can be done using the Windows Backup (ntbackup.exe) tool or any other backup tool such as one from a third-party vendor. Whatever way you choose to back up your system, do it regularly and verify your backups to ensure you can recover your system using them.
8. (the Platinum rule) If your disk starts to make funny sounds, don't ignore them—do something. Disk failure is often preceded by funny sounds emanating from your computer. These clicking, scraping, screeching, or other types of sounds mean trouble, so when you hear them it's time to make sure you've got a recent backup and a spare disk handy just in case. And it's also time to check your event logs, run chkdsk –r, and use other maintenance and troubleshooting tools to check the health of your disks. Don't ignore these funny sounds!
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)